Gintama Watch Order Guide

Gintama is one of studio Sunrise’s flagship shounen series, notable for its use of a wide variety of comedy styles, including slapstick humor, parody gags, random jokes, and ridiculous plots. Based on a 2003 Japanese manga, this anime is vastly a parody series, especially known for its eccentric characters and their distinctive interactions that are anything but normal. Gintama doesn’t shy away from the way it delivers its comedy. It usually pokes fun at the show’s lack of continuity, roasts other shows, and even its own jokes.

Despite being a full-blown comedy, the series sometimes strays from being a comedy and becomes a very serious anime, following a riveting story. However, trying to predict the direction the series will take is virtually impossible. Even with some serious scenes being dropped between story arcs, Gintama never once loses its sense of fun. Yet, oddly enough, everything flows together with a surprising level of consistency. It’s incredibly easy to get lost in Gintama’s strange story, despite the constant randomness ensuing across the screen.

If you are thinking of giving the Gintama anime series a try, here’s a guide to help you watch it in the correct order.

Gintama Watch Order:

1. Gintama


Alternate Title: None
Episodes: 201

Note: I recommend skipping the first two episodes and starting the anime from the third episode. The first two episodes are anime original made for manga readers to celebrate the anime adaptation.

2. Gintama’


Alternate Title: Gintama Season 2
Episodes: 51

3. Gintama’: Enchousen

Gintama': Enchousen

Alternate Title: Gintama: Enchousen
Episodes: 13

4. Gintama Movie 2: Kanketsu-hen – Yorozuya yo Eien Nare

Gintama Movie 2: Kanketsu-hen - Yorozuya yo Eien Nare

Alternate Title: None
Episodes: 1 (Movie)

5. Gintama°


Alternate Title: Gintama Season 4
Episodes: 51

6. Gintama°: Aizome Kaori-hen

Gintama°: Aizome Kaori-hen

Alternate Title: None
Episodes: 2 (OVA)

7. Gintama.


Alternate Title: Gintama Season 5
Episodes: 12

8. Gintama.: Porori-hen

Gintama.: Porori-hen

Alternate Title: Gintama.: Slip Arc
Episodes: 13

9. Gintama.: Shirogane no Tamashii-hen

Gintama.: Shirogane no Tamashii-hen

Alternate Title: Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc
Episodes: 12

10. Gintama.: Shirogane no Tamashii-hen – Kouhan-sen

Gintama.: Shirogane no Tamashii-hen - Kouhan-sen

Alternate Title: Gintama.: Silver Soul Arc – Second Half War
Episodes: 14

11. Gintama: The Semi-Final

Gintama: The Semi-Final

Alternate Title: None
Episodes: 2 (Special)

12. Gintama: The Final

Gintama: The Final

Alternate Title: None
Episodes: 1 (Movie)

Gintama is an action-comedy anime series adapted from the manga series of the same name written and illustrated by Hideaki Sorachi.

Synopsis: Gintama is set in an alternate universe during the Edo period, in which earth has been invaded by an alien race known as Amanto, which possesses super-futuristic technology. Japan’s samurai attempted to fight the aliens but were defeated after witnessing their power. Seeing their defeat, the shogun struck a peace treaty.

Now Amanto race has free reign to enter earth and has outlawed the use of the real sword by samurai. The story follows Gintoki Sakata, Shinpachi, and Kagura, the self-employed trio who do odd jobs in a shop called Yoruzuya Gin-chan. They offer to do almost anything for a price, from finding lost kittens to saving the world.

You May Also Like: