Black Butler (Kuroshitsuji) Watch Order Guide

Black Butler is such an enigmatic anime title that it is enough to pique the interest of even the most unassuming onlooker. It’s a dark series that explores the mystery genre perfectly, with a complex narrative and strange story structure. However, because this anime has reached a certain age, it is frequently regarded as outdated and unviable compared to the plethora of other story-heavy mystery anime similar to it.

The main plot of Black Butler is more interesting, but it loses its genre focus halfway through. Especially the second season, which suffered from too much vague lore. However, due to its surprisingly high production value in animation, it never becomes terrible. The show has gorgeous action, the dialogue between characters is hilarious, and the main characters’ growth rivals any show you’ve seen.

If you are thinking of giving the Black Butler anime series a try, here’s a guide to help you watch it in the correct order.

Black Butler Watch Order:

1. Black Butler

Black Butler

Alternate Title: Kuroshitsuji
Episodes: 24

2. Black Butler Special (Optional)

Black Butler Special

Alternate Title: Kuroshitsuji: Sono Shitsuji, Kougyou
Episodes: 1 (Special)

3. Black Butler II

Black Butler II

Alternate Title: Kuroshitsuji II
Episodes: 12

4. Black Butler II Specials (Optional)

Black Butler II Specials

Alternate Title: Kuroshitsuji II Specials
Episodes: 6 (Special)

5. Black Butler: Book of Circus

Black Butler: Book of Circus

Alternate Title: Kuroshitsuji: Book of Circus
Episodes: 10

6. Black Butler: Book of Murder

Black Butler: Book of Murder

Alternate Title: Kuroshitsuji: Book of Murder
Episodes: 2 (OVA)

7. Black Butler: Book of the Atlantic

Black Butler: Book of the Atlantic

Alternate Title: Kuroshitsuji Movie: Book of the Atlantic
Episodes: 1 (Movie)

Black Butler is a mystery thriller anime series adapted from the manga series of the same name, written by Yana Toboso.

Synopsis: Ciel Phantomhive, a young orphan, lost his parents in a house fire. Because of his family’s illustrious reputation, he suspects his parents’ death was a murder. To solve the mystery behind his parent’s murder and get revenge on his parents’ murderers, he enters into a contract with a demon named Sebastian Michaelis in exchange for his soul.

With the contract formed, the demon now acts as his loyal butler, assisting him in various situations. Also, after his father’s death, Ciel has taken over being the Queen’s Guard dog. His job is to eliminate criminals and solve underworld cases for Queen Victoria. He takes care of the different tasks requested by Queen with Sebastian.

You May Also Like: