Saiyuuki Watch Order Guide

Saiyuuki is an anime with the usual features of a straight fantasy story but driven more by the characters than the actual plot. The story is simple, the characters are interesting and highly original, the fighting system is intuitive and exciting, and a good bit of humor is sprinkled throughout. It is basically the ultimate shounen fantasy with an epic and action-filled story that will entertain any fantasy fan.

However, being a fantasy staple, Saiyuuki has some great things about it, along with a fair amount of mediocrity that holds it back. It comes off as somewhat generic because the monsters of the day theme and the group of adventurers who get caught up in the conflicts of the supernatural world setting are nothing new that hasn’t been seen before in other anime. Despite its rather unoriginal overall theme, this show is still extremely well done.

If you are thinking of giving Saiyuuki anime series a try, here’s a guide to help you watch it in the correct order.

Saiyuuki Watch Order:

1. Gensoumaden Saiyuuki

Gensoumaden Saiyuuki

Alternate Title: Saiyuki
Episodes: 50

2. Gensoumaden Saiyuuki OVA

Gensoumaden Saiyuuki OVA

Alternate Title: Saiyuki Premium
Episodes: 2

3. Gensoumaden Saiyuuki: Kibou no Zaika

Gensoumaden Saiyuuki: Kibou no Zaika

Alternate Title: Saiyuki Interactive
Episodes: 1

4. Gensoumaden Saiyuuki Movie: Requiem – Erabarezaru Mono e no Chinkonka

Gensoumaden Saiyuuki Movie: Requiem – Erabarezaru Mono e no Chinkonka

Alternate Title: Saiyuki: Requiem
Episodes: 1

5. Saiyuuki Reload

Saiyuuki Reload

Alternate Title: Saiyuki Reload
Episodes: 25

6. Saiyuuki Reload Gunlock

Saiyuuki Reload Gunlock

Alternate Title: Saiyuki Gunlock
Episodes: 26

Note: Saiyuuki Reload Gunlock also has a remake titled Saiyuuki Reload: Zeroin. It has better animation.

7. Saiyuuki Reload: Burial

Saiyuuki Reload: Burial

Alternate Title: Saiyuki Reload: Burial
Episodes: 3

8. Saiyuuki Gaiden

Saiyuuki Gaiden

Alternate Title: None
Episodes: 3

9. Saiyuuki Gaiden: Kouga no Shou

Saiyuuki Gaiden: Kouga no Shou

Alternate Title: None
Episodes: 1

10. Saiyuuki Reload Blast

Saiyuuki Reload Blast

Alternate Title: Saiyuki Reload Blast
Episodes: 12

Saiyuuki is a fantasy adventure anime series adapted from a popular manga series of the same name, written and illustrated by Kazuya Minekura.

Synopsis: Tougenkyou is a place where humans and demons live in harmony. But the peace ended when demons tried reviving Gyumao, an evil demon imprisoned for thousands of years. The attempt to unleash Gyuma discharged Minus Wave throughout the land. It turned ordinary demons into barbaric creatures that started ravaging human towns. Now it’s upto Genjo Sanzo, a rogue priest, and his followers, three demons: Sha Gojyo, Son Goku, and Cho Hakkai, to stop the resurrection of Gyumao and bring balance between humans and demons.

You May Also Like: